clam crab cockle cowry

milk

i listened to this song this morning while i was getting dressed and for some reason my eyes just started welling up with tears. they weren’t tears of sadness, i cant explain them really… i think that this song just comes from a place of magic. something inside an artist that even the artist can’t rightfully explain. it seems to me the sort of song that forcefully liberated itself from the chaotic and sparkling brain of a young harp player named joanna. and across the distances that divide this young harp player and myself her words, words that i have savored many times over, hit me still like a sack of bricks when i let my guard down. at first i wondered if something was wrong with me, but upon second thought if this is wrong… i don’t want to be right.

clam crab cockle cowrie

That means no
Where I come from
I am cold
Out waiting for the day to come
I chew my lips
And I scratch my nose
Feels so good to be a rose

Oh don’t, don’t you life me up
Like I’m that shy
No no no no no
Just five it up
There are bats all dissolving in a row
Into the wishy-washy dark that can’t let go
I cannot let go
So I thank the Lord
And I thank his sword
‘Tho it be mincing up the morning, slightly bored

Oh, oh morning without warning like a hole
And I watch you go

There are some mornings when the sky looks like a road
There are some dragons who were built to have and hold
And some machines are dropped from great heights lovingly
And some great bellies ache with many bumblebees
And they sting so terribly

I do as I please
Now I’m on my knees
Your skin is something that I stir into my tea
And I am watching you
And you are starry, starry, starry
And I’m tumbling down
And I check a frown
It’s why I love this town
Well, just look around
Just see me serenaded hourly !
And celebrated sourly :
Dedicated dourly
Waltzing with the open sea
Clam, crab, cockle, cowrie
Oh will you just look at me

Leave a Reply

